HOME

ARCHAEOLOGY

BANTAM/JEEP

CATALOG

COOPER CABIN

GENEALOGY

MEMBERSHIP

RESEARCH

SHAW HOUSE

VOLUNTEERS

 

 

The Little Red School House was constructed in 1838, and was the first public school built in   Butler as a direct result of the Public School Act of 1836.  It was used as a classroom until 1874,  when a larger facility was built.  The building was then used as an office, Butlerís first public library,  a  meeting room, and a center for the Red Cross during World War II.

 

In 1966, the Butler School District permitted the Society to use the building as a museum, and it continued in that use until 1991, when it closed due to structural deterioration.  The school district deeded the building to the Society in 1993, and a restoration project began to return the building to its original one-room school condition.

The site is now a living history museum, which recreates the one-room school experience for school classes.

The school house is located at 200 East Jefferson Street, in Butler, directly behind the current Butler Junior High School.  Group tours are provided by special arrangement.  Admission fees: $3.00 per adult, $1.00 for youth ages 5-17, and free for children under 5 and Butler County Historical Society members.

 Please call 724.283.8116 for more information